Our Italian Kitchen Table

By accepting or continuing to browse you agree to our cookie policyACCEPT

The capitals of the Italian regions

Learn more about the geography of Italy


Italy is broken up into 20 regions, each with their own unique flags. With so many locations and destinations, it can be a little confusing when travelling to know exactly what region you’ll be stumbling into when you hop from city to city. So we’ve provided a list for all of the capitals across Italy and which regions they belong to. Make sure you stop by the capital of the region you next visit! How many of these did you know already?



Aosta Valley – Aosta

Emilia-Romagna – Bologna

Friuli-Venezia Giulla – Trieste

Liguria - Genoa

Lombardy – Milan

Piedmont – Turin

Trentino-South Tyrol – Trento

Veneto - Venice



Abruzzo – L’Aquila

Lazio – Rome

Marche – Ancona

Tuscany – Florence

Umbria – Perugia


South & Islands

Apulia – Bari

Basilicata – Potenza

Calabria – Catanzaro

Campania – Naples

Molise – Campobasso

Sardinia – Cagliari

Sicily – Palermo

Tweet Share newsletter